Saltar al contenido principal

Repara tus cosas

Derecho a reparar

Tienda

Ayuda

Hey there! My name is Victoria Shew and I’m a Technical Communication Master’s student at the University of North Texas. I’m also working as a technical writer for a Dallas-based mortgage company.

I fell in love with writing at age 8 after competing in UIL Creative Writing. I was awarded first place that year and the following three years. I realized I was gifted with a true talent and my passion grew from there. In 2016 I advanced to the state level of Texas' Academic UIL Journalism Competition where I placed 26 in the state.

Block Image

I completed my undergraduate degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Technical Communication. I loved the idea of being able to communicate complex ideas and help people through technical writing, which led me to pursue my Master’s in Technical Communication.

Block Image

I haven’t had much experience in repairs, but am excited to learn more through the iFixit project! Once I turned 16 and got my first car my dad began teaching me how to repair common issues as they popped up. It’s helped me a ton as I got a new car because I feel confident in being able to diagnose and repair any issues that many come up. I’ve also helped him repair and restore his ‘86 Camaro. I’ve also had experience repairing easy tech fixes on our cellphones and laptops.

I plan to continue my career as a technical writer and, hopefully, give back by teaching college classes in the future. I’m ready to write repair guides for iFixit to help give back to the community and give them the tools to help save the planet by reducing waste in landfills.

Skills:

  • Spanish
  • Strong written and verbal communication
  • Time management
  • Working under pressure
  • HTML
  • Archer

Repair Experience:

  • Auto repair
    • Battery replacement
    • Sensor replacement
    • Troubleshooting issues

Awards:

  • University of North Texas President’s List (2018)
  • University of North Texas Dean’s List (2016-2019)
  • Graduated Cum Laude (2019)

Hobbies:

  • Playing piano and drums
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Crafts
  • Watching hockey (Go Stars!)